What To Do When You Turn 50 (or more)

50-things

When I turned 50 I bought the book, “50 Things to Do When You Turn 50” and I’m glad I did!  I didn’t realize how much it would mean to me  to hear suggestions from people in “my tribe!”

Yes, when you turn 50 and from then on out, you’re in a tribe. You’re a member. You get the inside jokes. You get the discounts. You’re automatically welcome at the breakfast table and the early bird dinners.

Becoming a grandparent means you’re an automatic sub-tribe of the over 50 tribe. But that’s another discussion.

Oh, you’ll resist the 50+ tribe. You’ll be embarrassed. You won’t claim your membership. But then slowly you’ll see that you’ll really need your tribe, their wisdom and advice. So, if you’re 50 or even older, get the book.

The writers in the book give you great suggestions on what to do when you turn 50 like: Stop complaining, wear comfortable shoes, take your self back and stop obsessing about your flaws. They also give some very practical advice concerning health and finances.

Inspired by the book, on my 50th birthday, I made a list of 50 things I wanted to do. A bucket list of sorts. Here’s some things that I have accomplished so far – and I’m not done yet!

  • See Paul McCartney, James Taylor and Sting in concert.
  • Get my motorcycle license.
  • Take a pottery class.
  • Get a massage (I had never had one, can you believe it?)

I still need to swim with dolphins and hike a portion of the Appalachian Trail, but I’m working on it!

Really, though, get the book. It is funny and inspiring and it will help you deal with the all the stupid, untrue, dread and hype surrounding turning 50.

Peace,

Jill

 

3 thoughts on “What To Do When You Turn 50 (or more)

  1. Hey, this blog really echoes my thoughts too! I started checking my bucket list a few months ago. Got myself a scuba diving license two months ago.. new years gift to myself..twas hard work..50 means u take twice the time u wld have taken at 20+.. Working now on going on a trek and solo trip in the near future before the creaking in the joints really sets in.. Overall though, u suddenly realize that ur bucket list needs attention, if uve got to get it done in whatever time uve left…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

