The Oatmeal Conundrum & Review of Sistema’s Breakfast Bowl

(I’m not getting paid for this review in case you were wondering.)

img_2355

I’m not a hypocrite when I say I bought something and at the same time I’m talking about minimalism. Two reasons, one, I’m trying to be more intentional about my health, eating less and better (thus the oatmeal) and two, my possessions should be helping me free up my time (thus the conundrum).

Cooking oatmeal on the stove is time consuming (the stirring, the watching) and it messes up a pot and spoon. Cooking oatmeal in the microwave is time consuming (the watching it overflow the bowl in the microwave) and it messes up the microwave and usually a pot holder because I accidentally dip it in the oatmeal while trying to grab the slippery bowl that is as hot as the devil’s backside. (I don’t know where that came from.)

Hence the conundrum.

After a reading some reviews I purchased a Sistema Breakfast Bowl from Amazon.

So, here’s what I think.

The plastic is of good quality. You don’t feel like it will shrivel up in the first exposure to microwaves. I love that it doesn’t get hot during cooking, so no burning my fingertips and no messing up a pot holder. It has a lid with a steam vent to it seemed promising that it wouldn’t overflow during cooking….

But alas, that’s not the case. During one cooking episode, I opened the steam vent but I didn’t lock down the lid and it popped off and the oatmeal cascaded over the side. During another episode, I locked the lid and the oatmeal oozed from the steam vent.

One Amazon reviewer said that no matter what, oatmeal will overflow any cooking vessel. Well, that’s just great news! However, they did suggest stopping the cooking after 2 minutes, stirring and then continuing for one minute more. (Don’t judge me. I was absent for oatmeal cooking class.)

I did that and I only got a little oatmeal ooze from the vent.

So, there’s still a little element of attending the microwave while cooking.Β #firstworldproblems

But all in all, I think this is going to work for me. I’ll eat more oatmeal and spend less time cleaning up that oatmeal slime (if I remember to stop and stir).

Peace,

Jill

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Oatmeal Conundrum & Review of Sistema’s Breakfast Bowl

  1. Taller bowls seem to work better at reducing the overflow. I cover a taller bowl with a salad plate and then microwave. No overflow! But still hot! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

