Wagons Ho!

While I don’t necessarily intend to give you a play-by-play commentary on my life in this blog, I did feel that I should probably counter my last 3am emotional outburst with something a bit more positive, just to reassure my readers that I am not going off the deep end.

So, we’re headed west to see the Grand Boys!

wagon-train-unknown

This is an artist’s rendering of our last trip when we were stuck in traffic on I-20. That’s me in the bonnet in the wagon. 

We’re heading out because Manny Man is getting dedicated and will be wearing his dad’s dedication outfit (sniff, sniff, so precious!) He’ll be dedicated at the church my kids are planting (sniff, sniff, so proud!)

We will be partaking in some Hard Eight Texas Barbeque! Looking forward to that! The Cornbread Salad and Jalepeno Sweet Corn, Lordy! Y’all don’t even know!! And for this NC/GA BBQ fanatic to admit that Texas BBQ is good, well, it’s a big deal! Just to let you know how serious I am about my BBQ, I have a NC BBQ map.

There will be some 4 wheeling (in the living room and maybe in the park if the weather is good) with the Grand Boys in their new red wagon! The amount of cuteness happening with 2 little Grands riding in their wagon will be off the scale!

Gideon and I will be perfecting our “Secret Scratch Code.” If I told you about it, it wouldn’t be secret now would it?

I’m seriously thinking about creating a ball pit for the Grand Boys that we can sit in while we read about Jacques Cousteau in a book called Manfish that learned about from Beach Books Blog. I love her lovely blog about all things SEA related.

manfish

Steave and I will also be celebrating our 35 wedding anniversary while we are there by going to see Sting in concert! Check it off the bucketlist!

And staying true to my blog name – Minimalist Grandma – I will be unloading some stuff on my kids in my effort to declutter! Please know that the stuff I’m taking is THEIR stuff and stuff I offered and they wanted. Because, what’s our mantra? Repeat after me: “Our kids don’t want our stuff!”

So, as you can see, I’m not off the deep end. I am, however, looking forward to a refreshing time with my family. There will be much hugging and kissing and laughing – always laughing. My favorite!

Peace,

Jill

3 thoughts on “Wagons Ho!

  1. I’ve wandered here to your blog as I sit in bed wide awake keeping the light from the iphone on low so as not to disturb the husband that has the gift of falling asleep . 😴 You are such a gifted writer. I too am the baby child who has now buried one parent and 2 of my 4 siblings. I feel validated and understood. Planned my funeral in my mind lots, but haven’t been to the lengths you have at this point. Still trying to throw things out, then learn not to bring more “stuff” in that I do not need!!🙄 Here’s to always being somebody’s baby, always hearing that we’re the spoiled one, and yet finding out life isn’t at all as lively as we thought might be at this time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

