Minimalist Wardrobe – It Really Works!

narnia

I used to be able to dress myself. You could actually say I had a sense of style. That is until I had my first child. After that my body was not the same.

I didn’t know what I looked good in. I didn’t know how to dress a “Mom.” I was so busy with raising my son that what I wore was way down on the priority list.

Then came my second child. Things changed even more. Then we were financially strapped and even if I knew what I looked good in or knew how to dress a “Mom” I couldn’t afford what I would have liked.

I haven’t been comfortable with my clothes since I was teenager, and I’m half a century now.

My closet and I have had a love/hate relationship for years. I really wished I could have found Narnia instead of all the pieces of clothing that almost fit, I almost liked, that were a good deal but not exactly what I wanted and what I might fit if I lost a few pounds.

I have purged and reorganized and reinvented my clothing so many times that I can’t keep count.

So, during this latest decluttering fest I purged my closet once again.

However, I did something different this time.

Let me tell you what I did. I decided to follow Marie Kondo’s advice and only keep what I love. If it didn’t fit just right (right now) or if I didn’t like the color or length or material, I tossed it. So, I was left with only clothes that I felt good in and I loved. There wasn’t much left to be honest.

But before I had a chance to fill my closet up with more stuff I almost liked, I had to make this latest trip to see my kids. So, I had to pack. I had to put this capsule wardrobe idea to the test even if I didn’t want to.

Thankfully, most of what I had left in my closet were in the black, white, gray and blue color scheme. So, I could combine just about every piece I had to make several different outfits. I ended up packing up just about every article of clothing I own now.

Because I didn’t have much, I didn’t have to wash a ton of clothes before I packed. I also didn’t have to think too much about it. I just packed what I had.

IT MADE PACKING SUCH A BREEZE!

minimalist-wardrobe

I couldn’t believe I could pack so quickly with such little stress.

Believe it or not I had something to wear for every situation, even the funeral I didn’t know I’d be attending when I packed!

I have been convinced that a pared down, minimalist wardrobe is the way to go!

I’m so relieved and I feel so free! Clothes have been a burden for years! I know now that I will be able to live with just a few, good quality, interchangeable pieces.

The key for me is to only own pieces that I really love. That way I can and will wear everything! And then all I have to do is the fun part of combining the pieces to fit the occasion. I love it!

It really has brought me peace,

Jill

One thought on “Minimalist Wardrobe – It Really Works!

  1. Pingback: Adjusting To The Minimalist Lifestyle or What Happens After You Throw It All Out? | Minimalist Grandma

Leave a Reply

