Contentment Is Key To Minimalism

Contentment

 

Being content is difficult.

Society makes sure that we live in a state of discontent.

Just when you think you are satisfied with something, a better version comes out.

When it comes to living a minimalist lifestyle, though, we must make a decision to be content.

You can decide to be content.

Contentment is not an illusive thing that you have to wait on to suddenly appear in your life, it’s a state you can decide to live in.

Like when I hear people use the phrase, “falling in love.” To me, love is a choice not something that you fall into or step in.

When people say they “fell in love” I think they mean they had feelings of love. The problem is I’ve had those feelings a million times and I’ve had those feelings leave a million times. Am I doomed to be a victim of fleeting feelings that change constantly and are unreliable?

No, I decide to love. And I can decide to be content. Even when something better flits by and I have “feelings” that are temporarily more exciting than the “feelings” I experience when I look at what I have. I can decide to love and be content even when a better version comes along. Because what will I have to give up to make room for the newer bells and whistles? And will I be any better off when the new feelings dissipate?

So, I went through my house and I kept only what I love (decided to love).

I decided to be content with it.

There will ALWAYS be alternatives and options that will keep you having to decide and choose and in a state of frustration and discontent. You can choose to held hostage by “feelings” or you can take control and decide!

This applies to relationships, too, by the way.

Peace,

Jill

One thought on “Contentment Is Key To Minimalism

  1. Pingback: A Surprising Way Minimalism Saves Time | Minimalist Grandma

Leave a Reply

