Vive la Difference!

mike-taylor-176219

I have 20 minutes before I have to head out the door. It’s a day of being away.

But this topic I will have to return to, I’m sure.

A few things got me thinking about this and it’s pushing it’s way out of my mind and I must let it flow through my fingers or I will explode.

I’m sure the thoughts will not be well sorted, but I have to let it flow.

In my teaching career, I loved kids who were “different” or “difficult.” I’m using quotes because we all have our quirks and peculiarities but I especially loved the ones who didn’t fit in the school model of the ideal student. I should have gone into Special Education, but I didn’t know that about myself until much later.

Think about it, the school set up is really quite stifling isn’t it? For most of the day you have to sit still, be quiet, pay attention to topics that don’t interest you, you’re pitted against your peers and they often bully and poke at you. You either force yourself to fit in or you stay the object of ridicule because you don’t.

But I love those who dare to be different, who march to the beat of different drummer, who take a path less chosen. They are interesting!

We are not meant to be the same! We are meant to be unique. Why do we feel the pressure to be the same or push our kids to be the same?

I always said to my students, “You are like a stained glass window. God’s light shines through you and you display the colors and patterns that only you can.”

I think the special joy parents have is to DISCOVER the uniqueness in their children. To walk alongside them and watch them explore and experiment is one of the greatest joys in life!

Too many times parents don’t like their children. They love them, but they don’t like them. And I think most of the time it’s because they don’t want them to be different or are afraid of their differences because they don’t understand them. They feel they must teach their children, when sometimes it’s the child who teaches the parent.

A wise parent knows when it’s time to be the teacher and when it’s time to be the student.

I’ll be talking about this more, I’m sure.

Have a great day!

Peace,

Jill

2 thoughts on “Vive la Difference!

  1. I agree totally. Why the herd mentality? Just because some person does something, or even if a vast majority of people do certain things, not necessary everyone must follow.. But as Rhett Butler tells Scarlett O’Hara in ‘Gone with the Wind’…. “BE DIFFERENT AND BE DAMNED”. Sorry state of affairs.. but reality. Why? I wonder if any one has found an answer to that one…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

