Prisoner of Hope

“Return to your fortress, you prisoners of hope; even now I announce that I will restore twice as much to you.” Β ~Ezekiel 9:12

hope

I ran across this verse yesterday and it’s been rattling around in my heart ever since.

This verse comes from the prophet Ezekiel in the same passage where Jesus’ entry into Jerusalem riding on a donkey is prophesied.

I’m captivated by that phrase, “Prisoners of hope.”

I find a kindred spirit in these words. I think I am, too, a prisoner of hope.

I can get down and depressed, in fact, I have been struggling with it recently. However, no matter how low I get and no matter how many thoughts of what a waste of time this life is, what a waste of breath I am, I am a prisoner of hope.

Hope pokes and shoves and relentlessly tells me “it WILL get better!”

Hope really is like my annoying optimistic friend – or prison guard to continue the metaphor.

Hope tells me in this verse in Ezekiel that whatever I have lost or had stolen, I will be restored twice as much.

I’ve lost a lot. It sounds too good to be true. Nah!

But I am a prisoner of hope! I have to believe it! I have to keep watching and waiting!

Hope, you annoy me but I am grateful!

Peace,

Jill

3 thoughts on “Prisoner of Hope

  1. We are #hopedealers. We deal out #hope! Let’s just call Satan out of his nasty hole, and shine a light on him, shall we? Satan would love for us to be quiet, tired, withdraw, but what does our God say?

    “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” (Galatians 6:9.)

    If you ever feel yourself losing your hope again, you best come and find me! I will listen, I will love you, but then I will share some truth with ya. Consider it a gentle kick in the ass.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

